Review: Mena (Whitening) Facial Cream + Before and After PICS

5 Mar

Disclaimer: This product has been brought by me with my own money and the following is my full honest opinion.

How I got this Baby: Before anyone starts saying how you should be proud of my skin color and such. I’m using this product on my very visible farmer’s tan. My arms and the rest of my body is a totally different color. And I absolutely hate it, especially when I wear tank tops. So I looked around and how a 12 pk of these on eBay for around $23.

Ratings: ★★★☆☆

Pros:

  • Whitens skin
  • Affordable
  • Easy to use
  • Good amount of product.

Cons:

  • Have a smelly smell
  • Too thick to be actually worn on face
  • Gives a white cast after applying

Firstly I would like to say that although it’s a facial cream, I do not recommended on your face. It’s thick and have a semi-strong scent. I don’t like the smell personally but you might find yourself to be okay with it. I’ve been using it on my forearm for about two weeks on my left hand so I can compare it with my right. The result is that my left hand is now a few shades lighter than my right. I’m starting to use it on my right hand so it can be the same color again :3

On to what you guys came here to see. The Before and After Picture Results!

As you can see my left arm (the one with the bracelet) is lighter than my right arm. I know it looks kinda weird but the following picture can prove that they are in fact a picture of my arms :)

Bottom Line: I generally like it but it can do without the smell. I would not use this cream for anything other than the lightening effect. I gives good result in a decent amount of time. Would only recommend using in the night-time due to a white “film” (the cream itself) settle in the cracks of your skin.

- Yue <3

12 Responses to “Review: Mena (Whitening) Facial Cream + Before and After PICS”

  1. Suraia December 6, 2012 at 10:13 am #

    how did you wash it off?

    • yueeechan December 11, 2012 at 11:44 am #

      I never actually washed it off because I didn’t need to. I always applied it at night, so that the white film residue is barely noticeable in the morning.
      It’s quite thick, but I think soap will do just fine.

  2. Princess December 8, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

    I would like to buy this cream for my face it’s breaks out a lot n I wanna get lil lighter than I am now but I don’t wanna buy the cream offline I don’t have debt card or anything like tht is there a store tht sells it can u plzz lemme know thnk:)

    • yueeechan December 11, 2012 at 11:48 am #

      Hello Dear,
      I wouldn’t recommend this cream to you if you have lots of break out, because this cream is very heavy and thick. It might break you out even more. And I do not know if there are any stores that carries this unfortunately. But I have heard that the “POND’S Clarant B3 Anti-Dark Spots Moisturizer” is a good cream to even out complexions and lightening. It’s available at most drugstores. Maybe you can try that one out?

  3. D December 18, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    Does it work on all types of skin and skin colour (brown specifically)? Also, does it just work after a tan or on natural skin colour as well?

    • yueeechan December 21, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

      Hi D,
      I think it should work for your skintone. But I couldn’t say for sure. My arms were much much darker than the rest of my body and it had lightened up quite abit!
      - Yue

  4. jessica December 27, 2012 at 10:52 pm #

    hi! i’m an olive-ish skin tone (not sure if i’m a little darker or lighter then olive skin tone) and i’ve been using it for a few months and i’ve only seen about half a shade change in that time! to be more exact i’ve been using the cream on my face for 4 months. i’m going to try and go for up to february 2013 and see if i can get a little lighter. do you think it will work??

  5. nicole January 28, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

    is the cream good to use if you have dark spots??

  6. Ashley April 5, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

    Hey, how long does one package last? they look really small.

    • yueeechan April 7, 2013 at 3:29 pm #

      I’ve used it on my arms for about a month before I stopped, and there was still plenty (more than half) left. One package would last quite a long while.

  7. lacey April 7, 2013 at 7:12 am #

    are their any bad side effects and can you use this all over?

    • yueeechan April 7, 2013 at 3:31 pm #

      I didn’t use it all over, but I’ve seen one girl on youtube saying she used it on her face. I didn’t experience any bad side effects other than the “white film” residue that can still be semi-apparent in the morning even when I put it on at night, because the product is so thick.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

